History of E.L. Haynes

Founded in 2004 and named for Dr. Euphemia Lofton Haynes, the first African-American woman to be awarded a PhD in Mathematics , E.L. Haynes has grown to serve more than 1,100 students from around the District of Columbia. 

Many exciting things have happened at E.L. Haynes, here is a brief snapshot of some important milestones for our community over the last fifteen years.


Jennie Niles writes E.L. Haynes’ charter as a New Leaders for New Schools Fellow with support from New American Schools.


The DC Public Charter School Board (PCSB) approves E.L. Haynes’ charter.


The school opens to 139 Pre-K–2nd grade students above a CVS in Columbia Heights.


E.L. Haynes purchases property in Ward 1 and secures loans to build a permanent facility for its Pre-K–8th grade program.


E.L. Haynes is chosen from DC’s 56 charter schools as the first-ever winner of Fight for Children’s Quality Schools Initiative Award.

E.L. Haynes completes construction on our new 46,000 square foot facility on Georgia Avenue, NW.


E.L. Haynes is the highest performing charter elementary school in Washington, DC, based on scores from the 2009 DC-CAS.


The Washington Post selects fifth grade teacher Nate Franz as a recipient of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award.

The Aspen Institute and NewSchools Venture Fund name Jennie Niles a Fellow in the prestigious Entrepreneurial Leaders for Public Education Fellowship Program.

The EnVest Fund names Director of Marketing and Development Julie Anne Green a 40 Under 40 leader.


The CityBridge Foundation awards E.L. Haynes its first-ever Strong Schools Award.

E.L. Haynes High School opens.


The Washington Post awards principal and founding staff member, Michelle Molitor, with its Distinguished Educational Leadership Award.


The Office of the State Superintendent for Education names U.S. History Teacher Barrie Moorman DC History Teacher of the Year and the Southern Poverty Law Center names Moorman as one of five teachers for its national Teaching Tolerance Award.


E.L. Haynes graduates our first class of high school seniors.

E.L. Haynes Board of Trustees votes unanimously to implement VISION 2020, a new-five-year strategic plan for the school.

Shivam Mallick Shah serves as Interim Executive Director.

Hilary Darilek joins as Chief Executive Officer.


Our Elementary School earns a Tier 1 rating on the DC PCSB School Quality Reports for the first time in its history.


Our Elementary School earns a Tier 1 rating on the DC PCSB School Quality Reports for the second year in a row.


Our Credit Recovery Program, led by Zeleta Green, wins the DC PCSB Program Innovation Award and Senior Kalkidan Haile wins DC PCSB’s TIERific Student Award.

Our High School earns a Tier 1 rating on the DC PCSB School Quality Reports for the first time in its history. Our elementary school earns a Tier 1 rating for the third consecutive year.

The Washington Post names elementary school music teacher, Ben Byrd, as a finalist for the Teacher of the Year Award.


DC PCSB votes unanimously to renew E.L. Haynes Public Charter School’s charter for another 15-year term.

The first class of EL. Haynes alumni graduate from college.

Your support makes a difference for our students.

Donate Now